Water

Recently, I woke in the middle of the night and needed to get some water. Incidentally, I needed to let water as well. This happens on occasion and of late has happened quite a bit. Having just gone to the bathroom I went to the kitchen and put my glass under the faucet and turned the handle.

No water.

I tried the hot water handle, no water there either. Then I tried the cold water. I found this quite perplexing as I’d just washed my hands in the bathroom, and there was water. I wondered if, perhaps, the water had just been shut off for some reason. In the middle of the night? Nonsense. Yet, my mind began to think of such things. I went back to the bathroom and the water worked perfectly fine there.

Back to the kitchen and this time, water. I have no idea why this happened, though I suspect it may have had something to do with pressure in the pipes or something like that. Perhaps running water in the bathroom fixed it?

And, being me, I began to wax philosophic about the whole thing. On some days, I couldn’t have an idea to save my life. There are no creative urges on such days, nothing to write, nothing to say. Just a blank stare at life, where I take it all in. Much like Werner Herzog’s camera work in many of his films, and perhaps this is one of the things I love most about his work.

Perhaps it’s entirely natural and necessary for these fallow periods to occur, much like the water in the pipes. For all I know, there is some small time each night when there is no water. Only this is the first time I’ve been there at the correct time to notice it.

Your feedback is most welcome

