Blog Hop

I’d like to introduce you to Jess C. Scott, who invited me to take part in this blog hop.

Jess C. Scott

Jess C. Scott

Jess has been writing and publishing books in a wide-array of genres (including: Psychological Thrillers, Fantasy, Non-Fiction, and Erotic Fiction) and blogging since 2007. She is prolific and talented in each of these genres and has recently started blogging about socio-political issues in Singapore. Talk about being multi-talented!

I can personally recommend her anthology of erotic short-stories, Primal Scream, which I have enjoyed. *(Jess, sorry I haven’t gotten around to reviewing it yet!)

I highly recommend that you give her a visit:
Blog: http://jesscscott.wordpress.com/
Website: http://www.jessink.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jesscscott
Facebook: http://facebook.com/jessINKbooks

Now it’s my turn:

a.  What am I working on?

Currently I am revising my sonnet collection 365 Days of Verse. My plan is to release a single volume 2nd edition. I may also revise my five act play “The Sacrifice” and possibly publish that.

I’m also working on a mini-epic poem written in iambic pentameter. I’ve been working on this for about three years now. I hope to finish it within another year. It’s 20 pages long so far.

b.  How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I suppose I am more attuned to blank verse and perhaps “less standard” rhyme schemes than others, but to be honest, I don’t know. I’m certainly not doing anything too off the wall. I suppose writing a sonnet every day for a year is in some ways different.

c.  Why do I write what I do?

I’ve written for various reasons over the years. It’s varied from: ego gratification, trying to impress the opposite sex, and because I love a good challenge. I think nowadays I primarily write out of enjoyment more than anything. I have no particular axe to grind internally or externally. I’m pretty well aware that most people don’t like sonnets, verse, etc., and I’m fine with that.

4.  How does your writing process work?

When I engage I guess I become somewhat obsessive. I look at it like trying to solve a riddle. So for example, in the mini-epic I’m working on, I started with the structure of a story that happens to the characters. Then I had to figure out what goes in there and from there work on the verse aspect of it (which rhyme schemes to use, and so forth). It’s a large and complicated puzzle but it’s intensely gratifying.

I’ve failed to get in touch with other bloggers for the blog hop but I’ll just link to them.

Greg Rodgers, blogger and vagabonding master. Greg has traveled the world, and then some. He writes about his travels and perspectives on his blog vagabonding.com. He also blogs for about.com on Asia travel.

Dmitri Mandaliev, author of Stoic Living for the Modern Soul. Dmitri writes about a lot of different topics and focuses a lot on stoicism. His Letters to a Young Man series hearkens Seneca’s moral letters. Interesting, if sometimes provocative, stuff.
Website is here: http://taoofdirt.wordpress.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/taoofdirt

One thought on “Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: Blog Hop: The Writing Process | Jess C Scott :: Singapore Politics, Etc.

Your feedback is most welcome

